Copycat Refashion: Anthropologie Dress for Less

I have been in love with this dress from Anthropologie since I saw it online, but with a price tag of $268 it was WAY out of my budget. It’s week 3 of Refashion Runway and this week’s challenge is copying something from a catalog or celebrity, and it totally inspired me to try to recreate it.pizap.com10.03302782308310271371819336170

Finding a base dress was way harder than I expected it to be (it’s always harder when you’re looking for something specific). After what felt like a lifetime of searching I found this too big, and sleeved (but white) dress on clearance. Unfortunately, in what can only be referred to as ‘The memory card incident of 2013’ the photos of me wearing the dress before have been lost, but thankfully I took a photo of it on my dress form (albeit, inside out – sorry everyone), just before starting the project.

What I did to the dress:
Took it in on the sides
Removed the sleeves
Brought the neckline up

photo (13)

I went to the craft store to purchase ribbon for the project, but it didn’t come in any of the right colors. I decided to purchase plain ribbon and paint, figuring I would just pain the ribbon the correct colors (or at least try to come close to the right colors)Fotor0621190621

Getting the ribbon on and spaced evenly was the most difficult part, I’m pretty sure I pinned it on and took it off 12 times before deciding on where exactly it should go. The bottom chevron detail was also challenging, to ensure the zig zags were spaced evenly I first pinned my measuring tape around the bottom of the dress. I pinned every 3″ all the way around.

pizap.com10.40394509071484211371820509059

Getting the ribbon straight and even was definitely easier said than done, it seemed like every time I pinned it on and tried it on, it would look so much different! I had to have my roommate put the dress on so I could really get things pinned on straight (thanks Holls!)_1070369 _1070462 _1070422

Though challenging, I was able to complete the dress for $37, which is $231 less than the Anthro version! It’s not an exact replica, but I’m happy with how it turned out and can’t wait to wear it to a fourth of July party in a couple of weeks!

Check out the competition and cast your vote today!

34 thoughts on “Copycat Refashion: Anthropologie Dress for Less

  1. Wait. I just died. This is the greatest thing I’ve ever seen!! I too was obsesseddddd w that dress and cried a little everytime I had to leave it in the store. You did an AMAZING job!!! Wish I could sew!

  2. Wow! That is such a creative way to update that dress! I think it came out just lovely and I’m not gonna lie, I think I might just be willing to try and add some ribbon to a shirt or skirt!

    p.s. I stumbled upon your blog in the Lucky Community and am so glad I did! I’ll be following you and if you get a chance, I hope you get to check out my blog too and if you like, follow as well. šŸ™‚

    -Theresa

    Oh, Ivory Blog

  3. You’ve got my vote this week. Your dress is the best! I can tell you put a lot of work into it. Cute photos too. Good luck this week!

  4. that is soo cool, I honestly thought you just tagged your face over that models. that is soo awesome, an you got a dbl masters in what? keep going an maybe you can sale them later, one of a kind made things, I love it, an you look beautiful, an to the photo guy, hates off to him as well, great pictures!!!

Your Comments Make me Smile :)

