Lace, Paisley, and Sustainability

_1050319

Anyone who has looked at my blog probably noticed that I wear a lot of H&M. Recently, there has been a lot of buzz around H&M and their sustainability efforts in the fashion world. I don’t know enough about  their efforts to really have an opinion yet, but I do like that they are bringing attention to the not-so sustainable fashion world and are making efforts to (at the very least), appear to be transparent.
_1050342

If you’re like me, you probably have a hard time keeping up with fashion trends, and finding a way to pay your bills. I try to balance this by purchasing things second hand (hello, Goodwill), refashioning, and donating old clothes. You don’t have to give up fast fashion all together, but you can take small steps that can make a big difference.
_1050334

If you’re in the market for some totally cute, and ethically made threads, check out these two awesome sites:

http://www.anniegreenabelle.com/

http://www.tarastarlet.com/

_1050369Dress: H&M // Purse: American Rag // Leather Jacket: H&M // Shoes: Thrift // Scarf: Thrift

_1050372_1050404

_1050399

_1050382Are there other ways you try to be conscious with your fashion purchases/lifestyle? I’d love to hear them!

13 thoughts on “Lace, Paisley, and Sustainability

  1. Great post – and outfit. love the purse so much. Shopping secondhand has changed my perspective on the clothing industry.

    Speaking of sustainability..I did some research a couple of months ago and wrote a post about throw away fashion, here’s the link:
    http://spoolish.com/2012/12/12/extinction-of-the-thrift-store/ and also about changing buying habits and making the most out of your clothes:
    http://spoolish.com/2012/11/27/the-great-american-apparel-diet/

  2. I get a lot of secondhand/thrifted clothes because they’re unique and fun … and I feel like I’m “recycling” a bit.

    Also, I agree that H&M sizing is weird, especially in their pants. They’re always so tight on my calves, haha!

  3. I love those wedges! I haven’t heard much about the H&M sustainability buzz but I will check it out. I also love their clothes but find that sometimes their sizing is strange. But they always have cute/fashion forward clothes that are affordable to it’s a plus!

Your Comments Make me Smile :)

