Things I Made From the Fabric Box: 70’s Inspired Placemats

A few weeks ago I went to a community garage sale and found this box of fabric for only $2.00!

photo (7)

I couldn’t pass it up, so in an effort to be sure I don’t waste the fabric (and my precious $2), I’m starting a new DIY blog series called ‘Things I Made From the Fabric Box”.

As I was trying to decide on my first project I looked through the box for inspiration. I found about 4 yards of this fabric:

IMG_3604

The 70’s appeal seemed perfect for placemats, so I scoured for some plain fabric for the back of them

IMG_3610

Steps:
1. I cut out and pinned 6, 14.5′ x 20.5′ placemats to allow for a 1/2″ seam allowance.
2. Sew around the perimeter (leave a few inches so you can turn them inside out)
3. Turn inside out
4. Hand stitch the opening
5. Top stitch 1/2″ in (For decorative purposes)

IMG_3619IMG_3621

11 thoughts on “Things I Made From the Fabric Box: 70’s Inspired Placemats

Your Comments Make me Smile :)

