Explosions at the Boston Marathon

As a (albeit, new) runner, I can’t even begin to imagine how the athletes,  their friends, and their families in Boston are feeling right now. I am in the process of training for a half marathon and so admire anyone who even attempts a full. I cannot imagine working so hard to achieve a goal, seeing it within your reach, and having it ripped away in such a horrendous way.

I had a refashioning post prepared for today, but posting it now just doesn’t seem right. Even more unsettling than this story for me is remembering that tragedies like this happen all over the world, every day. Living in the United States has allowed me the privilege of being able to live life day to day generally without fear of things like this happening. This horrible tragedy serves as proof that no one is untouchable.

In the hours since the first bomb went off, I have heard whispers of terrorism, and seen fingers being pointed at North Korea and the Arab world. As it stands in this moment, we have no proof, or leads as to who is responsible for this monstrosity. I understand that violence is scary, and that blaming others may bring solace to some, but it is my hope that in a time like this we can focus on the victims and their families

My heart goes out to all who have been affected by this.

Your Comments Make me Smile :)

