Vintage Stool Makeover

Before and After Stool3

In honor of my good friend May, who suggested I also post some of the other projects I’ve worked on I’m going to add a DIY section to my blog. This is actually a project I completed last year when I was searching for a bench that matched my vanity. After a few weeks of frustrated searching I found this bench at an antique store.

DSCN1458

It was the perfect height, it looked like it would match my art deco vanity, and seemed like a good makeover candidate so for $20 I had to buy it.

Now, I know what some of you are thinking; “How could she paint over that beautiful wood?!”, it’s hard to see in these photos, but this stool was pretty beat up (and the upholstery, while nice, was outdated).

Some primer, a few coats of paint and some new (thrifted) fabric later and I had the perfect stool to match my vanity. Some of the scratches came through even with the paint, but I think it gives it character 🙂

DSCN1464

DSCN1465

4 thoughts on “Vintage Stool Makeover

Your Comments Make me Smile :)

